Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Title

How to disable auto-update notification in Flash PlayerProducts affected

Adobe periodically updates Flash Player with new features or security fixes and notifies users who have Flash Player installed when an update is available. To disable notification of updates:

  1. Right click on any Flash content, select Settings, Advanced and click the Global Notifications Settings tab in the Flash Player Settings Manager.

    Note: The Settings Manager is a Flash application that displays Flash Player settings which are stored on your computer only. Adobe does not store or track this information on its servers nor does it pass this information to third parties.

  2. Deselect the Notify Me When an Update to Adobe Flash Player is Available option to stop receiving notifications.
  3. Close the Settings Manager. Flash Player automatically remembers the new settings.

Note: Automatic notification is available on all Microsoft Windows platforms for the following browsers: Microsoft Internet Explorer, AOL, Mozilla, Netscape, or Opera. You also need to have permission to install software on your computer; that is, you need to log in as an administrator or as a user who has permission to install software.

Updates to Adobe Flash Player are designed to ensure that Flash Player works properly and may include changes to security or new product functionality. Adobe recommends that you update to the latest version of Flash Player when a new version is available, especially when a security update is mentioned. You can download updated versions of Flash Player from the Adobe Flash Player Support Center.

Additional Information


Doc ID
(a7138026)

Last updated
2008-05-02

Products affected

Contacting Adobe Support

Still need help?
Find out about all your support options.
Contact support